ASD Leadership

Ian Burrell
ASD Executive Coordinator
SOCH Board Member
SEDS-USA Board & Staff Member

Ian Burrell is a student at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, studying Mechanical Engineering with a focus in space technologies. Since 2016, he has been involved in the planning and coordination of Students on Capitol Hill (SOCH), March Storm and Fall Fury blitz events. Serving as a Students on Capitol Hill Board Member and previous ASD Advocacy Coordinator, he has a wide range of experience in citizen space advocacy. He also serves as Social Media Coordinator for the Students for the Exploration and Development of Space (SEDS), and has led the Virginia Tech chapter as Chair. Ian has devoted his academic career to the advancement of spacesuit design and production, and has submitted two proposals to NASA as part of the L’SPACE Academy program. He is an advocate of increased commercial presence in all areas of space, as well as permanent human presence throughout the solar system.

Jeremy Wainscott
ASD Chief Operating Officer

Wainscott holds a Master of Public Administration with a focus in Science and Technology Policy from the University of Washington and a Bachelor of Science from Indiana University. He has served on multiple executive boards and policy committees on science and technology policy at both Indiana University and the University of Washington. He has published two academic papers on space policy: “Beyond Earth: An Analysis of Public Policy Models for Human Expansion” in 2015, and “The Future of Manned Spaceflight in the United States” in 2017. He is a member of several Advisory Boards for the Lifeboat Foundation, including Media & Arts, Policy, and Space Settlement, and is an Advocate for the Space Frontier Foundation. He has previously served as the Executive Coordinator, Director of Communications, and Advocacy Coordinator for ASD.

Randy Gigante
ASD Board Member
Deputy Chair, NSS Policy Committee

Randy joined the National Space Society over 35 years ago and until recently has worked in the Commercial Space industry. He built the first three-axis stabilized spacecraft bus at Hughes Space and Communications and served as Program Manager for the first generation global Orbcomm LEO Constellation including both the satellites and ground systems in the 1990’s. After 2000, Randy worked as a Senior Program Manager at both SES and Intelsat, selling services on GEO communication satellites to major commercial and government customers.

Randy is currently the Deputy Chair of the NSS Policy Committee and has served on the NSS Board of Directors as well. Randy is one of two NSS representatives to the Alliance for Space Development, and sits on the ASD Board of Directors. One of his major work areas is supporting the March Storm, and Fall Fury legislative blitzes.

Al Globus
ASD Board Member
NSS Board Member

Since 1979, Al Globus has worked as a software contractor at NASA Ames Research Center. He has worked on the Hubble Space Telescope, the International Space Station, the effect of zero-g on bone, visualization of fluid flows around launch vehicles, X37 propulsion system, scheduling fleets of Earth resources satellites, remote teleoperation with delay, the design of free-space settlements, and much else. Al also created and runs the Annual NASA Ames Research Center/NSS space settlement design contest for students. He is a long time advocate of free-space settlements and has published dozens of papers in the field. Learn more.

Michael Mealling
ASD Board member
CEO, Waypaver Foundation
President, Moon Society

Michael co-founded Masten Space Systems, was CTO of Seraph Group (a seed stage VC fund), is the CEO of the Waypaver Foundation, and the President of the Moon Society. He has helped build several startups over the years ranging from telecom consulting to social media. He received an MBA from Georgia Tech in 2011.

His experience building companies and teams from scratch, and raising money for and investing in those companies, has given Michael an experienced view of both the successes and failures at every stage of building sustainable enterprises. Early involvement in the Internet and space industries has given him a unique view on what social and economic conditions need to exist for new industries to grow and thrive.

Charles Miller
ASD Executive Coordinator Emeritus

Miller is President and owner of NexGen Space LLC, which provides consulting services to governments, traditional aerospace firms, and entrepreneurial companies at the intersection of civil space, commercial space, and public policy. He is also a member of the Horizon Strategies Group. Miller is the Co-Founder of Nanoracks LLC, which has delivered nearly 200 payloads to date to the International Space Station (ISS). Nanoracks provides internal ISS microgravity research services, ISS external platform services, and small satellite launch services. Miller served as NASA Senior Advisor for Commercial Space in Washington, DC from February 2009 to January 2012. Miller was CEO and President of Constellation Services International, Inc. (CSI) from 1998 to February 2009. Miller proposed “New Space” as national branding and marketing theme in July 2004, while serving as a member of the Board of Directors of the Space Frontier Foundation. NewSpace has been widely adopted across the space industry to distinguish between differing space policy and business practices. Mr. Miller was the Founder and former Chairman/President of ProSpace, which was also known as “The Citizens’ Space Lobby”.

Gary Oleson
ASD Board member
SFF Board Member

Oleson is a senior engineer at TASC, an Engility Company, providing systems engineering and decision support to national security and civilian agencies of the federal government. He writes frequently on space policy and space engineering. As an employee of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Oleson served as International Space Station Systems Engineering liaison with the logistics and maintenance communities. In addition to his current role in the Space Frontier Foundation, Oleson served on the the Board of Directors of the National Space Society, served as NSS Executive Vice President and Senior Vice President, and chaired the 1985 International Space Development Conference. He was awarded the Space Station Freedom Award of Merit, a NASA Group Achievement Award, and the Space Pioneer Award.

Dale Skran
ASD Board Member
NSS Board Member
NSS Executive Vice President
Chairman, NSS Policy Committee

After 17 years with Bell Labs (AT&T, Lucent Technologies), Dale Skran worked in several companies including Ascend Communications (VP of Enterprise Engineering), Sonus Networks (Director of Engineering), and CMWare (Founder, CEO, COO, and VP of Engineering). He was also a negotiator/ manager (Rapporteur) at the UN (International Telecommunication Union) where he led the development of international Internet standards for video conferencing and voice services (VoIP).

Dale is the Chair of the NSS Policy Committee as well as NSS Executive Vice-President.  In addition, Dale is one of two NSS representatives to the Alliance for Space Development, and sits on the ASD Board of Directors. One of his major work areas is supporting the Space Exploration Alliance Washington Blitz in February, the March Storm, and the NSS Home District Blitz in August. He also also chaired the Space Policy Track at the 2014 ISDC. During 2013-2014 he gave a talk titled “NewSpace” to a variety of audiences. Additionally, he has written a number of articles for Ad Astra, including “A Summer in Newspace” (Winter 2013).

Comments are closed.